Database Quick Search
This is the "Databases (A to Z)" page of the "Electronic Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electronic Resources  

This is a list of databases available to Archbishop Mitty High School students, faculty, and staff
Last Updated: Mar 3, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mitty.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases (A to Z) Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Access From Home

As an Archbishop Mitty High School student, faculty or staff member you have full access to electronic recourses away from campus.

To access the Library database from home use >

username:    your myMitty username (e.g JennyMcStudent17)

password:    your myMitty password

Direct Access databases

username:    mittys1
password:    monarchs

Questia login:

username:   your entire AMHS email address (e.g JennyMcStudent17@mittymonarch.com)
password:    monarchs

All Databases from A to Z

  • A to Z Maps Online
    A to Z Maps is the worlds largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
  • African American Studies Center
    The Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) provides students, teachers, librarians and scholars with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies.
  • Artemis Literary Sources
    Unlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to be able to see the broader continuum of the story you choose to tell.

    Artemis Literary Sources provides workflow tools and features such as – term clusters, term frequency graphs, search assist functionality, mobile compatibility, and interface translation, along with an easier and more dynamic search.
  • Biography In Context
    Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
  • CQ Supreme Court Collection
    Historical analysis with timely updates and expert commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of justices, institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.
  • Gale Group
    Complete index and power search tool for Gale databases.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
  • Gale's Science in Context
    Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement
  • General OneFile 1980 - JAN, 2014
    A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
  • Global Issues in Context
    Covers topics such as Business and economy, Environment and Climate Change, Health and Medicine, Society and Culture, Conflict and Diplomacy, Government, Politics and Law, Science and Technology and Women, Children and the Family
  • Grove Music
    The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, offers links to nearly 50000 articles, images and sound files from 6000 contributors.
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module  1980 - Dec 2013
    Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
  • Informe Académico 1994 - Ene. 2014
    Esta colección multidisciplinaria provee material iberoamericano confiable de carácter académico, científico y de interés general. Abarca temas tan variados como política, historia, economía, humanidades, ciencias de la salud, filosofía, literatura, ciencia, tecnología y más. INFORME incluye publicaciones de 14 países así como los periódicos más importantes de la región.
  • J STOR
    Access to archived, multi-disciplined, scholarly journals. Offers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
  • Literature Resource Center - LRC  Jan 2014
    Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context
    Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • Origins
    Catholic documents including encyclicals, speeches and other papal messages, diocesan policy statements, speeches in the news on public policy, social justice, the parish, the family, ministries and much more.
  • Oxford Biblical Studies
    Easy to search and navigate, this site offers a ready access point for a wealth of Bible text and commentary—including the New Oxford Annotated Bible and five other popular Oxford Study Bibles. Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. Offers integration of authoritative scholarly texts and reference works with tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The definitive record of the English language
  • Proquest
    Access to current periodicals, newspapers, multimedia and image collections, out-of-print books, dissertations, and scholarly collections in various formats (and archived for decades). test
  • Questia
    Questia High School offers access to 23,000+ e-books in the English/Language Arts and Social Studies disciplines.

    Each student and faculty member has a unique Questia Login.
    username: your entire AMHS email address (e.g JennyMcStudent17@mittymonarch.com)
    password: monarchs
  • Science In Context
    Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • Scribner Writers on GVRL
    Scribner Writers Series provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author and their works in personal and historical context.
  • SIRS Issues
    Thousands of highly targeted documents, primary source documents, websites, and multimedia (including 13,000+ research-quality images) represent viewpoints from the pros and cons, to everything in-between.
  • Student Edition
    Now with over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
  • Student Resources In Context
    Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as "Search Assist" and quick fact boxes.
  • Teen and Health Wellness
    Teen Health and Wellness is the first database specifically designed for teenagers on issues relating to health, fitness, alcohol, drugs, mental health, family life, and much more. TH&W provides young adults with authoritative content that encapsulates the best information on a wide variety of topics. High-interest features, as well as up-to-date resources, will allow students to locate reliable information in a discreet manner.
  • Twayne's Authors on GVRL
    Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.
  • U.S. History In Context
    U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • World History In Context
    World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Web Questions or Comments? Contact Us Copyright © 2014 Archbishop Mitty. All Rights Reserved

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip