- Sketches of Church History (index page)
This site gives brief insights into the history of the church from the apostles to roughly the middle of the 16th century.
- California State Law
This website offers information on California's codes and statutes, legislative information and the California Constitution.
- Bible History
Combines eyewitness accounts from Old and New Testaments with the history of people and ancient cultures as discovered by archaeologists. Contains links to maps, images and art, timelines and charts and study tools.
- Bible Online, The
Various versions of the bible from the New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition to the 21st Century King James Version. Available in multiple languages. Also contains a topical index link and a passage lookup link.
- Early Church Fathers
E-book. Contains a collection of writings by classical and medieval church theologians and thinkers. Volumes include entire texts.
- Guide to Early Church Documents
Guide to Early Church documents.
- Hall of Church History
Church history from the earliest times. Covers religious faiths such as Catholics, Eastern Orthodox, Reformers, and Puritans.
- Internet Theology Resources: Church History
Church history from the New Testament to 1600.
- UCB Foreign Information by Country
Information on the U.S. and foreign countries along with country profiles by governments and international organizations, such as the United Nations, World Health Organization and the International Monetary Fund.
- World Bank: Countries and Regions
Ending extreme poverty within a generation and boosting shared prosperity are the goals of the World Bank Group. Broad range of topics featured, from agriculture to climate change, education, sanitation, jobs and poverty.
- International Crisis Group
Looks at current and potential areas of conflict around the world.The site uses podcasts, videos, commentaries, alerts, blogs and Crisis Watch, a 12-page monthly bulletin with up-to-date information on the world's trouble spots.
- Flashpoints: Guide to World Conflicts
Guide to world conflicts.
- World Affairs Council
The mission of the World Affairs Council of Northern California is to explore issues and opportunities that transcend borders.
Daily online magazine on the global economy, politics and culture.
- CIA World Fact Book
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy of more than 250 countries. Includes maps of world regions, flags of the world, physical and political maps of the world, map of the oceans and a map showing the world's Standard Time Zones.
- National Geographic
National Geographic offers information on energy, habitats, the oceans, freshwater, global warming and natural disasters. To access this, you will need to register/sign in. Registration is free.
- Ethics Matters
A USD site dealing with ethical issues such as the environment, animal rights, abortion, death penalty, poverty and welfare among others.
- Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. Covers topics ranging from agriculture and resource economics, to climate change, energy, environmental law and policy, food, health, water and weather and climate.
LiveScience looks at issues dealing with the earth, space, animals, and tech. It has also has a Strange News section and links to trending topics in science.
TIG is a network of young people learning about, engaging with, and working towards tackling global challenges.This site covers issues such as culture, education, environment, globalization, health and human rights.
- U.N. Environment Programme
United Nations Environment Program. Looks at issues such as climate change, disasters and conflicts, ecosystem management, harmful substances and resource efficiency.
- World Environmental Organization
The World Environmental Organization (World.Org) is devoted to the preservation of the natural diversity of plant and animal species, and their habitats, through the prevention of environmental degradation and destruction. The site contains links to over 1,000 websites dealing with climate change, the environment, pollution, recycling, renewable energy, sustainable growth, to name but a few.
- 100 Top Environment Sites
Links to 100 Top Environment Sites.
- Markkula Center for Applied Ethics, SCU
A Santa Clara University site with resources for analyzing real-world ethical issues and tools to address them.
- Theology Library: Catholic Social Teaching (Spring Hill College)
A theology library of Catholic social teaching.
- Theology Library (Spring Hill College)
Spring Hill College's (Jesuit) theology library covering topics such as morality, spirituality, theology, justice, and liturgy.
- Catechism of the Catholic Church
Catechism of the Catholic Church.
- The Online Books Page/ University of Pennsyvania
Lists over 1 million free books on the web. Search by author, title, or subject.
- eBooks @ Adelaide
University of Adelaide, Australia website. Free books online. Search by author, title, subject and also features a new books link.
- ManyBooks.net (multiple languages)
Free ebooks. Over 29,000 titles. Search by author, title, genre.
- The Complete Works of Shakespeare
The complete works of William Shakespeare.
- Project Gutenberg
Over 42,000 ebooks, all of which have previously been published by bona fide publishers.
- Really Old Magazine (pdf format)
Articles from old magazines covering a wealth of topics from history to movies, fashion, dance, radio, television, etc.
- American Memory - The Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
The website of ACLU, which seeks to be the nation's guardian of liberty by defending and preserving the individual rights and liberties that the Constitution and laws of the United States guarantees its citizens.
- Congress Link
CongressLink provides information about the U.S. Congress: how it works, its members and leaders, and the public policies it produces.
- U.S. Statistics
FedStats makes statistics from more than 100 federal agencies available.
- U.S. Federal Law
This website provides legal information, lawyer profiles and a community to help poeple make the best legal decisions.
- Cornell University Law School
The website of Legal Information Institute, a not-for-profit organization that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. As such, it publishes law online; creates materials to help people understand law; and explores new technologies that make it easier for people to find the law.
- Bill Information
The full text of bills, resolutions, and constitutional amendments, and their status, history, votes, analyses, and veto messages are available.
- Legislative Information from the Library of Congress
THOMAS.gov is being replaced by congress.gov. Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information.
- U.S.A. Government Web Portal
As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web.
- Official White House Site
The White House's website, with tabs for the following: Blog; Photos and Videos; Issues; The Administration; The White House; Our Government.
The website for DownBeat Magazine, which has been writing about jazz since 1934.
- Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz
The Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz programs encourage children to develop imaginative thinking, creativity, curiosity, a positive self-image, and a respect for their own and others' cultural heritage. Included on its webite is a jazz resource library.
- Jazz PBS Companion Site
A page on the PBS website devoted to jazz, notably the Ken Burns Jazz miniseries.
- MapQuest Global maps
Use MapQuest for driving directions and maps. See local traffic and road conditions, and find businesses.
To date, d-maps.com contains 93,486 maps, each one proposed in six graphic formats: GIF, PDF, CDR, SVG, AI, WMF.
- Maps Collection (American Memory)
The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
- Live Search maps
View an interactive map and get turn by turn driving directions. Find traffic details, road conditions, street maps, Multimap, satellite photos, and aerial maps.
- David Rumsey Collection
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection focuses on 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials. Includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.
- Map a Planet
The USGS Map-a-Planet web site is an online mapping tool that allows you to explore the images of the surface of a planet or satellite (moon), access information related to the area you're exploring, and order a seamless, tailor-made image map in a wide variety of image formats.
- National Weather Service Map
Website for the National Weather Service, which provides weather, water, and climate data, forecasts and warnings for the protection of life and property and enhancement of the national economy.
TopoQuest is a valuable resource for USGS topographic map viewing, and free downloads of USGS DRG (GeoTIFF) digital map files.
- United Nations Cartographic Section
Website for the United Nations Cartographic Section. The Map Collection houses over 80,000 maps, some 3,000 atlases, gazetteers, travel guides, cartographic and geographic reference works as well as digital cartographic products.
- U.S. Government Maps
As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web.
World Atlas Atlas is an educational resource for world maps, atlases, and in-depth geography information.
- Acme Mapper
Website of the CIA. The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
- NYPL Digital Image Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Santa Clara City Library
Santa Clara CITY public library website.
- Internet Public Library
ipl2 is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment. To date, thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for its Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections.
- San Francisco Public Library
San Francisco Public Library website.
- San Jose Public Library
San Jose Public Library website.
- The Library of Congress
Library of Congress website.
- Poetry and Literature from The Library of Congress
The poetry and literature page on the Library of Congress website.
- Poetry 180: A Poem a Day for American High Schools
Poetry 180 is designed to make it easy for high school students to hear or read a poem on each of the 180 days of the school year. A Library of Congress website; poems selected by Billy Collins, former U.S. poet laureate.
- Poem Hunter
Information about and lists of poets, poems, lyrics, quotations.
- Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
Online language dictionaries, language games, and verb conjugators (for French and Spanish).
Conventional dictionary plus bilingual translations in many languages.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive record of the English language.
Bartleby.com offers a wide range of classic full-text searchable reference works. Famous compiler of quotations.
In additon to being a dictionary/thesaurus, site offers lots of fun facts, quizzes, etc. about words.
- Catholic Encyclopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.
A great place to begin one's research.
Encyclopedia.com has more than 100 sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauruses with facts, definitions, biographies, synonyms, pronunciation keys, word origins, and abbreviations.
- Roget, 1911
Founded in 1982 as a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources.
Part of Dictionary.com site listed above.
Part of the Merriam-Webster.com site listed above.
- Symbols of the Four Evangelists
Information about the symbols of the four Evangelists.
- Christian Iconography
This website helps its readers learn how to identify the saints in medieval and Renaissance art.
- Catholic Online: Saints and Angels
Catholic Online provides over five million pages of content including the largest online historical and biblical database about the Catholic Church including comprehensive information about over 7,000 Catholic saints and comprehensive online scriptures.
- Christian Symbology
A website devoted to Christian symbology.
- Catholic Information Network
CIN's mission is to offer information on the Catholic faith, including the texts of papal addresses and encyclicals, news and other articles as well as to facilitate open discussion on all matters of Catholic life. This website page provides information about Catholic saints.
- Meaning of Colors in Christian Art
Facts and information about medieval art, specifically meaning of colors in Christian art, during the Middle Ages.
- U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops
The website of the United States Catholic Conference of Bishops. Tabs include: Prayer and Worship; Beliefs and Teachings: Issues and Actions; Media; Bible; Catholic Giving; About USCCB.
- Scriptures and Art
Lextionary, scripture study, worship links, and resources. Click on a date to find direct links to a variety of contemporary and historical resources for study & liturgy for each lectionary week and pericope, or check out the Scripture Index to locate links to study resources relating to specific passages. Artwork indexed by biblical theme can be found in the Art Concordance.